top of page

Review of “The Night Is Short, Walk On Girl”

Just yesterday, I saw the movie I mentioned in a post, “The Night Is Short, Walk On Girl.” For me, it was pretty interesting!

The whole atmosphere is kind of weird. Color is exaggerated despite the fact that the city Kyoto is actually quiet and sober. Also, though all the location exists as the real place, some characters are totally fictional, such as Rihaku or the god of old books. Such mixture of reality and fantasy, however, expresses well the wonderfulness and mysteriousness of Kyoto.

The story is surreal as well. Because some characters are supernatural as I say, we sometimes cannot define if the scene we’re seeing is really happening or just their dream. For example, there is a description that they experience four seasons at one night. In addition, the main stream is the love story between “I” (Sempai) and “Otome,” but they don’t even talk to each other until the middle of the film, experiencing a series of unreal events.

Above all, every landscape and location seem nostalgic for me. Depicted are school festival of my university, the street I used to walk so often, the café I visited before, and so on. I love LA, where I’m living, but it reminds me of days I spent in Kyoto and I feel like I want to go back.

Anyways, I believe the movie would be attractive for foreign people who don’t know the city at all. It was impressive for me that the audience at theater from different countries laughed hard at jokes and really enjoyed the film. You might feel like it doesn’t have clear beginning, middle and end and seems often nonsense, but I bet you that you’ll find you can’t take your eyes off the screen for some reason.


Top Picks
後でもう一度お試しください
記事が公開されると、ここに表示されます。
Latest Posts
Archive
Tags
まだタグはありません。
Social
  • ブラックFacebookのアイコン
  • ブラックTwitterのアイコン
  • ブラックGoogle+のアイコン
bottom of page